Bach’s six Cello Suites (BWV 1007 through 1012) were mostly likely written around 1720, while Bach was employed in the court at Cöthen. Though the six suites follow the same structure (a prelude, plus five movements based on courtly dance rhythms), they each have a distinct character of their own. The first suite–Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major– is famous for its Prelude, a constant cascade of arpeggios familiar to many listeners.