Joseph Anderer

Joseph Anderer, principal horn, is a founding member of the St. Luke’s Chamber Ensemble and the Orchestra of St. Luke’s. He has also been a member of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra’s horn section since 1984, where he serves as principal horn.

For 14 seasons, Anderer was a frequent performer with the New York Philharmonic and participated in many concerts, recordings, and tours in the U.S. and over 20 countries in Europe, Asia, Australia, and South America under such conductors as Leonard Bernstein, Pierre Boulez, Bernard Haitink, Eugen Jochum, Erich Leinsdorf, Thomas Schippers, Carlo Maria Giulini, Klaus Tennstedt, and Zubin Mehta.

Anderer was also a member of the Boehm Quintette for many years and premiered works composed for that ensemble by Ralph Shapey, Charles Wuorinen, Ben Weber, Norman Dello Joio, John Lewis, Don Stewart, Lucia Dlugoszewski, and Irwin Bazelon. As a soloist, he has appeared with the Orchestra of St. Luke’s in Carnegie Hall and at the Caramoor Festival, Bargemusic, the Mt. Desert Island Festival, the New York Chamber Soloists, the Seacliff Chamber Players, and many others. He was heard in Schubert’s “Auf dem Strom” with Hermann Prey and James Levine at Herr Prey’s last New York recital prior to his death. He was also soloist in the American premier of Benjamin Britten’s “Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal” at Carnegie Hall with the Orchestra of St. Luke’s.

He holds degrees from The Juilliard School, where he was a student of Ranier DeIntinis. Orchestral credits include the American Symphony, Brooklyn Philharmonic, Opera Orchestra of New York, New York Chamber Symphony, New York Pops, Long Island Philharmonic, Philharmonia Virtuosi, Orpheus, and many others, including the Vienna Philharmonic for about 10 minutes. Anderer is very active in the recording studio, with a range that encompasses chamber music, countless operas, symphonic works, solo works, TV commercials, and films. He has also performed in albums by Dawn Upshaw; Billy Joel; Mandy Patinkin; Grover Washington, Jr.; and Marcus Roberts.