Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Bach and Sons

Part of: Bach Festival

 Tuesday, June 25, 2024  7:00pm  Carnegie Hall - Zankel Hall Directions

Ticketing Information

Carnegie Box Office: 212.247.7800

Bringing this year’s Bach Festival to a close, Kristian Bezuidenhout makes his Orchestra of St. Luke’s debut as both conductor and fortepiano soloist in a program that outlines the metamorphosis of musical styles from the late Baroque into the Classical era.

We begin with the Symphony in G minor by Johann Christian Bach, a composer who paved the way for Classical musical forms and significantly influenced the young Mozart. While his utilization of simple harmonies might imply a subdued character in his work, this turbulent symphony defies expectations, brimming with colors that orchestras had yet to explore.

In direct contrast to this melody-driven style, the Contrapunctus XIV from J.S. Bach’s “The Art of Fugue” showcases the senior composer’s famously intricate counterpoint and complex fugue subjects. Written during the last decade of Bach’s life and therefore within thirty years of the previous piece on the program, it presents a remarkable juxtaposition, offering a distinct glimpse into the musical evolution between father and son. 

C.P.E. Bach, the second son of J.S. Bach, occupies a stylistic realm that defies easy classification, with a creative voice that is uniquely his own. Recognized as a vital bridge between two musical eras, he played a pivotal role in shaping the evolution from the ornate and structured Baroque period to the clarity and balance of the emerging Classical era. His keyboard compositions bear witness to his innovative spirit, marked by inventive ornamentation, phrasing, and dynamic nuances that empower performers with interpretative latitude. This artistry is brilliantly harnessed by Bezuidenhout, particularly evident in his rendition of the Piano Concerto in D minor. 

Concluding the program is Mozart, in many respects a spiritual heir to the Bach lineage. The Piano Concerto No. 9, known as “Jenamy” after the young woman to whom it was dedicated, was composed when Mozart was a mere 21 years old. With a bright and joyful air, the concerto is replete with the signature elegance emblematic of the now firmly established Classical era. 

Principal artistic underwriting for the OSL Bach Festival has been provided by Phyllis Rosenthal, in memory of Charles M. Rosenthal.


Johann Christian Bach

Symphony in G minor

Johann Sebastian Bach

The Art of the Fugue BWV 1080: Fugue in 3 subjects (version for strings)

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Piano Concerto in D minor

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Symphony for Strings in C Major

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Piano Concerto No. 9 in E-flat Major, "Jenamy"


Orchestra of St. Luke's

Kristian Bezuidenhout