Loading Events

Mozart’s Clarinet Quintet

Part of: Chamber Music Series

 Wednesday, April 10, 2024  8:00pm  Carnegie Hall - Weill Recital Hall Directions

Ticketing Information

Single Tickets on sale October 16, 2023
OSL Box Office: 212.594.6100 x2

Join an intimate ensemble of chamber music masters for an evening featuring two distinct yet harmonious compositions—Mozart’s well-loved Clarinet Quintet and Florence Price’s melodious String Quartet.

A trailblazing African American composer, Price’s compositions uniquely fuse spirituals and folk tunes with European classical forms. Her “Unfinished” quartet, written in 1929, presents an engaging narrative, alternatively playful with jazzy, unpredictable rhythms, and tender with heartfelt melodies. It’s unknown whether the work was truly unfinished, as its two movements stand up on their own as compelling expressions of Price’s distinct voice. 

Mozart composed his Clarinet Quintet for the Austrian clarinetist Anton Stadler and performed alongside him at its 1789 premiere in Vienna. It is one of the earliest pieces written expressly for the clarinet and remains one of the instrument’s most popular chamber works. Performed here by OSL’s own Jon Manasse, the clarinet’s warm tones intertwine elegantly with the strings in a dialogue that embodies Mozart’s signature blend of elegance and lyricism. The Larghetto movement offers a moment of poignant beauty, showcasing the expressive capacity of both the clarinet and strings. With their singing voices, they become equal partners in a musical journey that is as emotionally captivating as it is technically brilliant—a perfect showcase for the wonderful musicians of St. Luke’s Chamber Ensemble. 

Underwriting for the 2023-2024 Chamber Music Series comes from the Asbjorn Lunde Foundation.


Florence Price

String Quartet No. 1, "Unfinished"

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Clarinet Quintet


St. Luke's Chamber Ensemble

Jon Manasse