Hélène Grimaud Plays Ravel

Part of: Carnegie Hall Series
April 18, 2019 | 8:00 PM
Carnegie Hall – Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage

The final concert of our 2018/2019 Carnegie Hall Orchestra Series focuses on Haydn’s influence on 20th century composers. Conductor Laureate Pablo Heras-Casado conducts Prokofiev, Stravinsky, ahd Haydn’s own “Drumroll” symphony, with French pianist Hélène Grimaud joining OSL for Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G Major.

Learn more the artists and discover more about the works on this program before joining us at Carnegie Hall on Thursday, April 18!

At A Glance

In the first half of the twentieth century, composers like Ravel, Prokofiev, and Stravinsky blended balanced, playful, and adventurous style of Joseph “Papa” Haydn  with the boundary-breaking sounds of Modernism. For his Symphony No. 1, Prokofiev took the classical four-movement symphony structure and filled it with unusual modulations and harmonies. Similarly, Stravinsky, who gained infamy for the shocking rhythms of his Rite of Spring, made an about-face in the 1920s, writing pieces like the Suite for Small Orchestra No. 1 that packaged his singular musical style into Classical forms. Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G Major is a jazz-inflected spin on the Classical concerto form in three-movements. The “Drumroll” symphony puts Haydn’s influence on these composers into perspective. His second-to-last symphony, “Drumroll” shows an internationally-revered composer continuing to find ways to write new rules.


Program Notes

Read the program notes ahead of the performance. Read More

Hélène Grimaud: The Keys to Life

Watch Hélène Grimaud discuss the transformative role music has played in her life. Click here

Follow Along! 

Listen to Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G Major while following along with the score. Click here

OSL on Spotify 

Listen to our favorite recordings of each of the four works on this program. Open Spotify

Meet The Artists

Pablo Heras-Casado, Conductor Laureate

Hélène Grimaud, Piano