Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Beethoven’s “Eroica”

Part of: Chamber Music Series

 Wednesday, February 21, 2024  8:00pm  Carnegie Hall - Weill Recital Hall Directions

Ticketing Information

OSL Box Office: 212.594.6100 x2

Join St. Luke’s Chamber Ensemble for a program highlighting a wide range of musical expression across different times and cultures.

The evening begins with Jessie Montgomery’s Rhapsody No. 1 for Solo Violin. Renowned for her imaginative fusion of classical, folk, and jazz elements, the contemporary American composer and violinist has noted that Rhapsody was the first solo piece she wrote for herself, inspired by the works of Belgian violinist Eugène Ysaÿe. Captivating and wistful, the piece transports listeners through intricate melodies and expressive timbres.

Claude Debussy’s Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp follows, a chamber music gem that showcases the interplay between the flute, viola, and harp, creating an ethereal soundscape that encapsulates Debussy’s fascination with color and atmosphere. Written against the backdrop of World War I, the sonata resonates with both melancholy and hope.

A livestreamed Beethoven’s “Eroica” arranged for piano quartet was one of OSL’s major virtual undertakings of the pandemic era. To close this program, we’ll get to hear this monumental work live, with pianist Benjamin Hochman guiding us through the profound and powerful journey in the intimate setting that only chamber music can provide.

Underwriting for the 2023-2024 Chamber Music Series comes from the Asbjorn Lunde Foundation.


Jessie Montgomery

Rhapsody No. 1 for Solo Violin

Claude Debussy

Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 3 "Eroica" arranged for piano quartet


St. Luke's Chamber Ensemble

Benjamin Hochman